top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNothing But Metal

Omnispawn Exclusive Interview Part 4


Hi Charlie, how are you?

Hi there. I'm doing perfectly fine, thank you.


Nice! Let’s hit the questions right away. What are your thoughts on your comeback 2017?

It feels really awesome. I have been playing in other bands or projects over the years so I have never fully been away from playing music. But Omnispawn is and always will be the first band I was in, so nothing compares to it.


What about your releases, 'Embers' and 'Phoenix', is there any elements that you are particularly pleased with?

The awesome songs, of course. And the mix which is super crisp!


When did you start playing your instrument and what got you into it?

I started playing bass guitar when I joined Omnispawn in 2007.


You've been mentioning the ”infected air” in the past. How do you look back on the years in Omnispawn before the break?

Overall it was a good run and the years were very fun and developing. Sometimes life just takes you down different paths.


True that, and how’s the chemistry between you guys today? You changed a lot, some have families, side jobs etc. How are you coping with each other now?

We basically have the same chemistry today. I think that's something we will never outgrow, no matter how many years that pass. Sadly we don't meet up as often as before since we now live in different cities.


What is your strongest memory from the time in Omnispawn?

Probably spending the nights and days in the studio, almost getting thrown out for being there too much!


Haha ok. Do you have any, like, ”your first memory” in the band? What is the first thing you think of from joining Omnispawn?

I guess it would have to be when I first auditioned for the band and meeting the others besides Markus who I already knew. Nervous as fuck, and had just started to learn to play the bass guitar instead of guitar, I showed up with a crappy bass guitar which my friend's little sister had lent me. But here I am so I guess it all worked out after all.


You had two releases this year, what are your next goal? What are you looking forward to, in 2018?

Releasing more music. With shorter intervals than before!


Reaching the end of the interview I would like to ask you what kind of music do you listen to? Any music/bands that inspires you?

At the moment a lot of St. Vincent and Myrkur which both released great albums in 2017. Otherwise mostly classic rock. And Opeth. Always lots of Opeth.


Feel free to send a message to the readers in order to end the interview.

Thank you for all the positive feedback during 2017. I'm excited to see what the next year brings!

-Charlie Persson, Bassist


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page